Monday, August 13, 2007

Rajiv Rai shows his class

If John Updike was to watch the Bombay Quiz Club in action, he would no doubt describe Rajiv Rai's recent roll as a "Tiger Woodsian performance". Rajiv won yet another BQC quiz this Sunday, shooting to 54 points in the league championship table, a full 16 points ahead of his nearest competitor, Ashwan Lewis.

The quiz was conducted by Avinash Mudaliar, and put together by Avinash and Kedar Shastry. It contained over 100 questions, and far more audio-visuals than the BQC is accustomed to. Immense fun thereby resulted, and the quiz was extremely close throughout -- Defending league champion AP Alagarsamy's team battled valiantly to second place, while the third place changed almost ten times in the second half of the quiz. Mahesh Murthy's team eventually cracked the last question to jump from joint fourth to third place.

The results:

1st with 36.5 points
Rajiv Rai
Pradeep Ramarathnam
Amit Pandeya
Devang Ghia

2nd with 31 points
AP Alagarsamy
S Balakrishnan
Ashwan Lewis
Mukund Krishnan
Rahul Bhaskar

3rd with 29.5 points
Mahesh Murthy
Udatta Duarah
Kartik Srivatsa
Ajith Prabhakar

4th with 28 points
Govind Grewal
Dhananjay Shettigar
Nandan Krishnaswamy
Mehar Sridhar

5th with 27.5 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Ravi Venkatesh
Amit Varma

6th with 24.5
Rishi Iyengar
Sumant Srivathsan
+ 2 (I don't have these names, will fill them in when I get them)

7th with 23.5 points
Anand Sivasankar
Souvik Basu
Kartik Ramadas
Shambhu Shankar

8th with 18 points
Arvind Krishnaswamy
Sireesh Rao
Pratik Chaturvedi
Seeta Menon

And now for the league standings:

BQC Season Two Standings (as of August 13, 2007)

54 points

Rajiv Rai (from 6 quizzes)

38 points
Ashwan Lewis (5)

34 points
Rishi Iyengar (6)

29 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam (7)

28 points
Amit Varma (6)
Mahesh Murthy (5)

27 points
AP Alagarsamy (7)
Prasann Potdar (5)

24 points
Anand Sivasankar (7)
Kartik Srivatsa (4)
Amit Pandeya (8)

22 points
Ajith Prabhakar (6)

19 points
Govind Grewal (7)

18 points
Sumant Srivathsan (5)

17 points
Kedar Shastry (4)
S Balakrishnan (5)

15 points
Vibhendu Tiwari (7)

14 points
Ameya Samant (6)
Devang Ghia (6)

11 points
Ajay Ravindran (3)
Dhananjay Shettigar (7)

10 points
Aravinda Talluri (1)
Avinash Mudaliar (4)
Neeraj (1)
Nilesh Jain (1)
Tanmay Sharma (2)
Gaurav Singh (1)

8 points
Hanisha Vaswani (5)

7 points
Akshay Mahajan (1)
Meghashyam Shirodkar (1)
Nandan Krishnaswamy (4)
Ravi Venkatesh (4)
Mukund Krishnan (1)
Rahul Bhaskar (1)

4 points
Francis Rodrigues (4)
Padma Sinha (3)
Pranav Kukreja (1)
Samrat Sengupta (2)
Sireesh Talluri Rao (3)
Sushant Raut (5)
Udatta Duarah (1)

The next quiz will be conducted on Sunday, August 26. More details later.


Sumeet said...

Hey Amit,
Where can I see the questions and answers of the Quizzes?

Unknown said...

hi amit

are the quizes posted on the blog.???
it would be a great idea for the non regulars ..

sarita r