Wednesday, April 25, 2007

AP Alagarsamy wins the BQC League

Before the BQC season finale, conducted by Prasann Potdar, we were sitting around in the Pinstorm conference room pulling Rajiv Rai's leg.

"We should have a trophy for the BQC League winner," Rajiv had said.

"Why don't you just get it made according to your specifications?" we said. "We all know who's getting to take it home."

Rajiv blushed. And across the table, a young man named AP Alagarsamy smiled. Clearly, he had cleared out a space on his mantlepiece already. David was going to beat Goliath.

Well, David is the new Goliath. Alagar came third in Prasann's quiz, beating out Rajiv for the BQC title. And so, for the last time this season, here are the results:

Prasann Potdar Quiz

1st with 160.5 points
Sumanth Srivathsan
Mahesh Murthy

2nd with 112.5 points
Rishi Iyengar
Vibhendu Tiwari
Samrat Sengupta

3rd with 95 points
AP Alagarsamy
Souvik Basu

Other finalists
Rajiv Rai
Nrupal Choudhari

Anand Sivasankar
Amit Pandeya

Dhananjay Shettigar
Amit Varma

The aggregate tally for the season runs thus:

BQC League Aggregate Tally

Amit Varma: 59 from 11 quizzes

AP Alagarsamy: 57.5 from 8

Rajiv Rai: 53 from 7

Anand Sivasankar: 44.5 from 8

Sumanth Srivathsan: 43 from 6

Rishi Iyengar, Prasann Potdar and Vibhendu Tiwari close out the top eight.

The BQC championship is decided based on everyone's results from the top 60% of the total quizzes held. Therefore, in a season of 12 quizzes, everyone's top seven results come into play. Here's the final table:

BQC Championship results 2006-07

AP Alagarsamy: 55.5

Rajiv Rai: 53

Amit Varma: 49

Sumant Srivathsan: 43 (from six)

Anand Sivasankar: 42.5

Congratulations to the new Goliath, AP Alagarsamy, who will no doubt be the target of many Davids in the season to come. Watch this space!

Saturday, April 21, 2007

Next quiz on Sunday, April 22nd

There will be a quiz tomorrow at the Pinstorm office, at 2.30pm. It was supposed to be conducted by Rishi, Sumant and me, but as Rishi had problems with his schedule, it will now be conducted by Prasann Potdar, who happens to have a set of questions ready. Be there!


Tuesday, April 03, 2007

The Rai Roll continues

Mahesh Murthy's quiz held last Sunday was quite thrilling, with Rajiv Rai winning yet another quiz, as his team beat out eight other teams in a quiz that had over 100 questions. The results:

1st with 40.5 points
Rajiv Rai
Rishi Iyengar
Meghna Sengupta
Apoorva Tiwari

2nd with 38.5 points
AP Alagarsamy
Anand Sivasankar
Kartik Srivatsa

3rd with 22.5 points
Amit Pandeya
Arvind Krishaswamy
Abhishek Hariharan
Pratik Chaturvedi

I don't have all the names of the other six teams, and we'll no doubt have better record-keeping in the next season. This was the penultimate quiz this season, and the standings are:

BQC aggregate points table (as of April 3, 2007)

1. Amit Varma: 57 from 10 quizzes

2. AP Alagarsamy: 53.5 from 7

3. Rajiv Rai: 51 from 6

4. Anand Sivasankar: 42.5 from 7

5. Rishi Iyengar: 34 from 8

The winner of the Bombay Quiz Club League will not be decided on aggregate standings, but from results from the top 60% of the total quizzes held. The season will end with the next quiz, and everyone's top seven results will count. Here is the effective BQC leaderboard, adjusting for that.

BQC Effective leaderboard (as of April 3, 2007)

1. AP Alagarsamy: 53.5

2. Rajiv Rai: 51 (from six)

3. Amit Varma: 49

4. Anand Sivasankar: 42.5

5. Sumant Srivathsan: 33 (from five)

The next quiz will be held on April 15, and conducted by Rishi and me (and probably also Sumant, as it's a season-ender, and we want a big quiz with many questions.) Come one, come all...