Saturday, March 31, 2007

Come along for the Mahesh Murthy quiz

Mahesh Murthy has provided the BQC with a venue for our last three quizzes, and now he will provide us with some questions as well: he hosts tomorrow's quiz at the new Pinstorm office. The details below:

Time: 3.45 pm, April 1 (This is not a prank!)

Venue: Pinstorm, Ground Floor, Swati House (Next to Kotak Bank on Linking Road), North Avenue, Santa Cruz West.

Directions: From the south: If you come north on Linking Road from Bandra to SantaCruz, you'll find a large Benetton Store on the right. At the end of that block is a Kotak Bank at the corner. Take a right and it's the next building, take the first gate and tell the sentry you've come for a meeting.

From the north: If you get on to Linking Road at the airplane park end, you'll cross a HDFC Bank. A block later, you'll see a Kotak Bank on the corner - do not cross it. Take a left at that point and it's the building next to Kotak Bank.

This is the penultimate quiz of the BQC season, and the league standings are at the bottom of this post.

Monday, March 19, 2007

Rajiv Rai wins two in two

The Bombay Quiz Club season just got more exciting, as Rajiv Rai won two quizzes in a row to put himself in serious reckoning for the league title. First, Rajiv and AP Alagarsamy won an open quiz conducted at NMIMS by Kolkata quizmaster Gautam Ghosh. Then he got together with Meghna Sengupta and my humble self to win a quiz conducted by Alagarsamy at the new Pinstorm office in Khar. Without much ado, the results below:


1st place
Rajiv Rai
AP Alagarsamy

2nd place
Souvik Basu

3rd place
Anand Sivasankar
Amit Varma

BQC Quiz

1st with 49 points
Rajiv Rai
Meghna Sengupta
Amit Varma

2nd with 40 points
Mahesh Murthy
Meghashyam Shirodkar
Kartik Srivatsa
Govind Grewal

3rd with 38 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Anand Sivasankar
Amit Pandeya

4th with 31 points
Rishi Iyengar
Madhu Menon
Souvik Basu

5th to 8th
Samrat Sengupta
Mukund Krishnan
Vidya Kumar

Nishith Pandya
Sarat Rao
Sireesh Rao
Arvind Iyer

Dhananjay Shettigar

Shambhu Shankar

(I don't have all the full names, and as these are taken from handwritten notes, there might be spelling mistakes. Please leave a note in the comments if any corrections need to be made; my apologies in advance.)

The league table has become maddeningly complex now, so I'll just sum up the first five in the overall and normalised standings.

BQC aggregate points table (as of March 20, 2007)

1. Amit Varma: 55 from 9 quizzes

2. AP Alagarsamy: 46.5 from 6

3. Rajiv Rai: 41 from 5

4. Anand Sivasankar: 35.5 from 6

5. Sumant Srivatsan: 31 from 4

The winner of the Bombay Quiz Club League will not be decided on aggregate standings, but from results from the top 60% of the total quizzes held. With ten quizzes so far this season, everyone's best six quizzes count. The effective leaderboard is below:

1. AP Alagarsamy: 46.5

2. Amit Varma: 45

3. Rajiv Rai: 41

4. Anand Sivasankar: 35.5

5. Sumant Srivatsan: 31

We'e collectively decided to wrap up this season's league after two more quizzes. One will be conducted on April 1 by Mahesh Murthy at the Pinstorm office, and the other by myself and Rishi Iyengar two weeks from then. The season will thus have consisted of 12 quizzes, and everyone's top 7 results will count. From what little sense I can make of the math involved, it seems to me that one of Alagar and Rajiv is more or less certain to take the first BQC title. This is like watching Federer and Nadal at the French Open, and immense fun threatens to rampage.