Monday, March 19, 2007

Rajiv Rai wins two in two

The Bombay Quiz Club season just got more exciting, as Rajiv Rai won two quizzes in a row to put himself in serious reckoning for the league title. First, Rajiv and AP Alagarsamy won an open quiz conducted at NMIMS by Kolkata quizmaster Gautam Ghosh. Then he got together with Meghna Sengupta and my humble self to win a quiz conducted by Alagarsamy at the new Pinstorm office in Khar. Without much ado, the results below:


1st place
Rajiv Rai
AP Alagarsamy

2nd place
Souvik Basu

3rd place
Anand Sivasankar
Amit Varma

BQC Quiz

1st with 49 points
Rajiv Rai
Meghna Sengupta
Amit Varma

2nd with 40 points
Mahesh Murthy
Meghashyam Shirodkar
Kartik Srivatsa
Govind Grewal

3rd with 38 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Anand Sivasankar
Amit Pandeya

4th with 31 points
Rishi Iyengar
Madhu Menon
Souvik Basu

5th to 8th
Samrat Sengupta
Mukund Krishnan
Vidya Kumar

Nishith Pandya
Sarat Rao
Sireesh Rao
Arvind Iyer

Dhananjay Shettigar

Shambhu Shankar

(I don't have all the full names, and as these are taken from handwritten notes, there might be spelling mistakes. Please leave a note in the comments if any corrections need to be made; my apologies in advance.)

The league table has become maddeningly complex now, so I'll just sum up the first five in the overall and normalised standings.

BQC aggregate points table (as of March 20, 2007)

1. Amit Varma: 55 from 9 quizzes

2. AP Alagarsamy: 46.5 from 6

3. Rajiv Rai: 41 from 5

4. Anand Sivasankar: 35.5 from 6

5. Sumant Srivatsan: 31 from 4

The winner of the Bombay Quiz Club League will not be decided on aggregate standings, but from results from the top 60% of the total quizzes held. With ten quizzes so far this season, everyone's best six quizzes count. The effective leaderboard is below:

1. AP Alagarsamy: 46.5

2. Amit Varma: 45

3. Rajiv Rai: 41

4. Anand Sivasankar: 35.5

5. Sumant Srivatsan: 31

We'e collectively decided to wrap up this season's league after two more quizzes. One will be conducted on April 1 by Mahesh Murthy at the Pinstorm office, and the other by myself and Rishi Iyengar two weeks from then. The season will thus have consisted of 12 quizzes, and everyone's top 7 results will count. From what little sense I can make of the math involved, it seems to me that one of Alagar and Rajiv is more or less certain to take the first BQC title. This is like watching Federer and Nadal at the French Open, and immense fun threatens to rampage.


Samrat said...

Amit great job dude. Collating all this stuff.
Now my wife Meghna has more points than me for the year :) .
Hope I garner some in the next two quizzes.
Also I am backing you to be the BQC champ of the year :), though you are handicapped by one less attempt.

Anonymous said...

Thanks Samrat. More power to the ladies, I'm glad you know who the boss is now!

And thanks for the backing! Looking at the points, though, I think Alagar or Rajiv will win, unless I can get my friends from Bihar to kidnap them or something. Hmm, now that's a thought... ;)

iissarayu said...

Hey Amit,

My name is spelt Sarayu. From the ancient river that flowed through Ayodhya.

Pliss to be correcting! :)


Anonymous said...

Hi Sarayu

Will correct. But what have I mis-spelt it as? Can't find it in the post... :o

Unknown said...

Hi Amit,

Sarayu was in the same team as Anand, Amit & me.

Anonymous said...

Thanks Vibhendu, Sarayu, have corrected.

Anonymous said...


yes YOU!! saint.. I'm talking to you saint.. you are invited to blog for us.. you commented on one of our posts and it was brilliant! post for us saint.. .post! , but FIRST! i need your email to add you as a blogger so email me saint..