Thursday, April 09, 2009

Rajiv Rai Dominates Season 3

Rajiv Rai topped the league table after the final BQC quiz of its third season, winning by a whopping margin of 47 points over his open-quiz team-mate, Sumant Srivathsan. Their third man, Vibhendu Tiwari, finished the season with a strong win to take third place in the league standings. After that we were all bunched up like college kids in a moshpit, headbanging furiously as these three strummed their mojo.

No, well, really, this season, more than the last two, the competition was severe. BQC's quizzing depth can now safely be compared to any other major city, and on a given day there are 10 to 15 people capable of kicking serious ass and winning a quiz on their own. There was much action in the second half of this season, especially, when some new and some improved quizzers put in a seriously strong show. That means Season 4 will be tight. We'll all be in the moshpit.

The 25th and final quiz of the season was a grand affair conducted by Anannya Deb. There were more than 100 questions, and many local Bombay fundas. A good time was had by all , and it was a fitting way to end the season.

And so, the results of this last quiz:

1st place Vibhendu Tiwari, Goving Grewal, Srikant Narasimhan.

2nd place Rajiv Rai, Sidharth Vij + 1

3rd place (tied) Sumant Srivathsan, Anand Sivasankar, Vijay Shankar

3rd place (tied) Ajith Prabhakar, Kaustuv Gupta, Devang Ghia

And now, will a roll of trumpets and a tray of turnips, the results of season 3!

BQC Season three Standings (from 25 quizzes, as of March 31, 2009)

131 points
Rajiv Rai

84 points
Sumant Srivathsan

71 points
Vibhendu Tiwari

58 points
Udatta Duarah

54.5 points
Amit Varma

53.5 points
Aadisht Khanna

48 points
Atul Mathew

47 points
Ajith Prabhakar

46 points
Kaustuv Gupta

45 points
Sumit Roy

44 points
Govind Grewal

42.5 points
Rishi Iyengar

41.5 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam

40 points
Ameya Samant
Sajith Pai

39 points
Atulya Bharadwaj

37 points
Rohit Ajitkumar
Shrikant Narasimhan

36 points
Souvik Basu

35 points
Sandip Sen

34 points
Bikash Mohapatra

33.5 points
Anannya Deb

32.5 points
Francis Rodrigues

32 points
Brian D'Souza
S Balakrishnan

31 points
Anand Sivasankar

27 points
Mahesh Murthy

26.5 points
Prasann Potdar

26 points
Vijay Shankar

24 points
Kedar Sastry

22 points
Amit Pandeya

21.5 points
Sarat Rao

18 points
Shiv Anant Tayal

17 points
Avinash Mudaliar
Devang Ghia
Mukund Sridhar
Rahul Gaur

15.5 points
Akash Bansal

14 points
Akanksha Mathur
Mitul Kodali

12 points
Sireesh Talluri Rao

11 points
Ravi Venkatesh

10 points
Amit Sharma
Arvind Krishnaswamy
Dhananjay Shettigar
Kashyap Pandeya
Phani Prasad
Rushi Bhavsar
Sandeep Rajpurohit
Srini Rajagopal

9 points
Mukund Krishnan

8 Points

Manish Mishra

7 points

Ajay Ravindran
Arjun Swarup
Avinash Umapathy
Kaustubh Chakravarti
Meher Sridhar
Nandan Krishnaswamy
Norbert Fernandes
Raamesh Gowri Raghavan
Rahul Bhaskar
Sidharth Vij
V Sreeharsha

5.5 points
Janardhan R
Leo Mirani
Nrupal Chaudhari
Rasik Tirodkar
Vikram Joshi

4 points
Barun Chakrabarti
Gopal Kidao
Mithun Srivatsa
Rajendra Parmar
Supriyo Saha
Vijay Chittoor
Vikas Sahu

2 points
Shambhu Shankar

More updates on Season 4 will follow on this blog. Watch this space.

No comments: