Thursday, July 17, 2008

Back in the High Life

Rajiv Rai, defending BQC league champion, got back to his winning ways with a last-question win at the BQC quiz held on July 6. Devang Ghia, conducting his first BQC quiz, put together a stunning set of questions, all of which were well-framed, interesting and workoutable. There was something for everyone -- if you were looking for enjoyment, that is. If it was points you wanted, it was going to be a brutal battle.

Insistent calls for seedings at the start of the quiz were turned down, rather foolishly, by this author -- who then lost his league lead as last year's top two, Rajiv and Rishi Iyengar, found themselves in the same team after our randomisation software did its mojo. Aadisht Khanna's team led by a healthy margin almost all the way, with Rajiv's team, my team and Vibhendu Tiwari's team fighting for the remaining points on offer. (The first three teams get league points.) A thrilling theme round right at the end changed all that, as Rajiv's team won by one point, with 61, over my team and Aadisht's boys, tied at 60. In a quiz where each question was 4 points, this was a brutal margin, and for days the second- and third-placed teams moaned about how they wrote the right answer here and cut it out, or discussed the right answer there but said something else. Without such agonies, what would be the joy of quizzing?

The results:

1st with 61 points
Rajiv Rai
Rishi Iyengar
Shrikant Narasimhan
Sumit Roy

2nd-3rd (tied) with 60 points
Amit Varma
Amit Pandeya
Vikram Joshi
Francis Rodrigues

Aadisht Khanna
Sarat Rao
Rasik Tirodkar
Akash Bansal

4th with 48 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Ananya Deb
Ameya Samant
Joanna Lobo

5th with 39 points
Sumant Srivathsan
Ajith Prabhakar
Pranob Gupta
Brian D'Souza

6th with 19 points
Ravi Venkatesh
Udatta Duarah
Pradeep Ramarathnam
Avinash Mudaliar

7th with 15 points
Govind Grewal
Souvik Basu
Aditya Agarwal
+ 1

8th with 2 points
Kedar Sastry
Ajay Ravindran
Rohit Bhat

For our league standings, everyone in the winning team gets 10 points, the runners-up get 7, the third-placed team gets 4. We always resolve a first-place tie with tiebreakers, but give 5.5 each if there is a tie for second, as happened this time. So here are the league standings, (sob) a little different from last week:

BQC Season three Standings (from seven quizzes, as of July 6, 2008)

35.5 points

Rishi Iyengar (from 5 quizzes)

35 points
Rajiv Rai (5)

32.5 points
Amit Varma (7)

27 points

Sumant Srivathsan (7)

24 points
Kedar Sastry (7)

22 points
Amit Pandeya (7)

20 points
Govind Grewal (6)
Shrikant Narasimhan (2)

19.5 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam (6)

17 points

Avinash Mudaliar (4)
Mahesh Murthy (2)

15.5 points
Aadisht Khanna (3)
Ananya Deb (5)

14 points
Ajith Prabhakar (6)
Udatta Duarah (6)
Vibhendu Tiwari (5)

11 points
Ameya Samant (5)

10 points
Mitul Kodali (2)
Sandeep Rajpurohit (4)
Sandip Sen (1)
Sumit Roy (3)

8 Points
Anand Sivasankar (4)
Brian D'Souza (5)
S Balakrishnan (3)
Sireesh Talluri Rao (2)

7 points
Ajay Ravindran (4)
Kaushtubh Chakravarti (1)
Mukund Krishnan (2)
Mukund Sridhar (3)
Raamesh Gowri Raghavan (2)
Rahul Bhaskar (3)
V Sreeharsha (1)

5.5 points
Akash Bansal (1)
Francis Rodrigues (7)
Janardhan R (1)
Leo Mirani (1)
Nrupal Chaudhari (3)
Prasann Potdar (1)
Rasik Tirodkar (1)
Sarat Rao (4)
Vikram Joshi (1)

4 points
Akanksha Mohan (1)

The next BQC quiz will be conducted at 3pm on Sunday, July 20 by Ajay Ravindran. Full details will follow shortly on this blog.

No comments: