Tuesday, April 28, 2009

It's All Happening Here

If Tony Greig was doing commentary on the BQC, he would not find it necessary to manufacture excitement: it really has all been happening here at the BQC. The first two quizzes of Season 4 were action packed events, though we will not report the bloodshed here, and there will be no pictures of the carnage. This is a family blog.

The results:

Quiz 1, April 12, conducted by Rajiv Rai

1st (163 points) Vibhendu Tiwari, Anannya Deb, Ameya Samant, Janardhan R, Akshat Trivedi

Tied 2nd-3rd (141) Atul Mathew, Sumit Roy, Govind Grewal, Bikash Mohapatra

Tied 2nd-3rd (141) Rohit Ajitkumar, Shiv Anant Tayal, Hanisha Vaswani, Jitaditya Narzari, Nandan Krishnaswamy

4th (139.5) Sumant Srivathsan, Devang Ghia, Souvik Basu, Siddharth Sinha Ray

5th (137) Amit Varma, Sai Ganesh, Dhananjay Shettigar, Srikant Narasimhan, Nrupal Chowdhary

6th (117.5) Diwakar Pingle, Sandip Sen, Ajith Prabhakar, Arvind Krishnaswamy, Amlesh Mishra

7th (116.5) Pradeep Ramarathnam, Amit Pandeya, Francis Rodrigues, Dipankar Goswami, Ram Shankar

8th (81) Anand Sivasankar, Chinmay Kamath, Rasik Tirodkar, Vishwesh Ramnath

As the scores indicate, this was a close quiz, with four teams separated by half a question fighting for second place, which was decided on the last question.

Quiz 2, April 19, conducted by Dhoomketu

1st (with 90 points) Sumant Srivathsan, Govind Grewal, Souvik Basu, Chinmay Kamath

2nd (71) Rajiv Rai, Atul Mathew, Anand Sivasankar, Dipankar Goswami

3rd (48) Amit Varma, Atulya Bharadwaj, Sarat Rao, Roshith

4th (45) Amit Pandeya, Jonas John, Sriram R, Vikas Sahu

5th (43) Rishi Iyengar, Mukund Sridhar, Rohit Ajitkumar, Hanisha Vaswani

6th (42) Ajith Prabhakar, Sandip Sen, Srikant Narasimhan, Francis Rodrigues

7th (41) Anannya Deb, Jitaditya Narzari, Supriyo Saha, Mina Anthony

8th (39) Vibhendu Tiwari, Sumit Roy, Janardhan R, Vamsi Krishna

All the teams had a chance to finish in the top three in this quiz, a battle decided, once again, right at the end. In BQC quizzes, members of the winning team get 10 points each for the BQC League Table, followed by 7 and 4 for second and third, and splits if there are ties. In open quizzes with elims and finals, like the forthcoming Landmark Quiz, finalists get two points each. Here, then, are the league standings right at the start of Season 4.

BQC Season 4 (from 2 quizzes, as of April 19, 2009)

15.5 points

Govind Grewal

12.5 points
Atul Mathew

10 points
Akshat Trivedi
Ameya Samant
Anannya Deb
Chinmay Kamath
Janardhan R
Souvik Basu
Sumant Srivathsan
Vibhendu Tiwari

7 points
Anand Sivasankar
Dipankar Goswami
Rajiv Rai

5.5 points
Bikash Mohapatra
Hanisha Vaswani
Jitaditya Narzari
Nandan Krishnaswamy
Rohit Ajitkumar
Shiv Anant Tayal
Sumit Roy

4 points
Amit Varma
Atulya Bharadwaj
Sarat Rao

These are early days, and no doubt there will be much movement on this league table. Watch this blog for announcements of future quizzes.


df said...

Hi Amit,

The name is Akshat Trivedi and not
"Akshath Trivedi"

Please correct this.


Akshat Trivedi

Online Casinos Slots said...

Quite right! It is good thought. I call for active discussion.