Tuesday, January 13, 2009

David Thrashes Goliaths

The first quiz of 2009 was in jeopardy when the scheduled quizmasters backed out, but Pradeep Ramarathnam saved the day by conducting an old quiz that he had once attended. BQC's third season has entered its last leg, with Rajiv Rai far ahead of everyone else in the league table, and only Sumant Srivathsan even remotely close to him. Would there be a mighty battle between these two in this quiz? There was -- for second place.

Atul Mathew, Sajith Pai and Phani Prasad put together a fantastic show, leading almost from start to finish, to win by a hefty margin. Sumant's team ended up second; Rajiv's team finished third; and while the top places in the league table remain unchanged, we just got yet another demonstration of the immense depth of the BQC.

Here are the results:

1st with 402.5 points
Atul Mathew
Sajith Pai
Phani Prasad

2nd with 375 points
Sumant Srivathsan
Ravi Venkatesh
Francis Rodrigues

3rd with 325 points
Rajiv Rai
Shiv Anant Tayal
Vikas Sahu
Supriyo Saha

4th with 237.5 points
Amit Varma
Atulya Bharadwaj
Vishvesh R

5th with 227 points
Anannya Deb
Sarat Rao
Srikant Narasimhan
Puneet Raj

6th with 175 points
Ameya Samant
Devang Ghia
Srinath Narayan
Amalesh Mishra

7th with 142.5 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Rahul Gaur
Roshit Mohan
Mukund Krishnan

8th with 135 points
Udatta Duarah
Prasann Potdar
Akanksha Mathur

The league standings, after 19 quizzes of Season 3, stand thus:

BQC Season three Standings (from 19 quizzes, as of January 11, 2009)

107 points
Rajiv Rai

70 points
Sumant Srivathsan

53.5 points
Aadisht Khanna

48 points
Atul Mathew
Udatta Duarah

47 points
Vibhendu Tiwari

42.5 points
Amit Varma
Rishi Iyengar

40 points
Ameya Samant

38 points
Ajith Prabhakar

37 points
Sumit Roy

35 points
Sandip Sen

32.5 points
Francis Rodrigues

31.5 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam

30 points
Sajith Pai

29.5 points
Anannya Deb

28 points
Govind Grewal
Kaustuv Gupta

27 points
Rohit Ajitkumar
Shrikant Narasimhan

26.5 points
Prasann Potdar

26 points
Souvik Basu

25 points
Atulya B
Brian D'Souza

24 points
Kedar Sastry

22 points
Amit Pandeya
Anand Sivasankar
S Balakrishnan
Vijay Shankar

17 points
Avinash Mudaliar
Bikash Mohapatra
Mahesh Murthy
Mukund Sridhar

15.5 points
Akash Bansal

14 points
Akanksha Mohan
Mitul Kodali

13 points
Devang Ghia

12 points
Sireesh Talluri Rao

11.5 points
Sarat Rao

11 points
Ravi Venkatesh

10 points
Amit Sharma
Dhananjay Shettigar
Kashyap Pandeya
Phani Prasad
Rahul Gaur
Rushi Bhavsar
Sandeep Rajpurohit
Srini Rajagopal

9 points
Mukund Krishnan

8 Points

Manish Mishra

7 points

Ajay Ravindran
Arjun Swarup
Avinash Umapathy
Kaustubh Chakravarti
Nandan Krishnaswamy
Norbert Fernandes
Raamesh Gowri Raghavan
Rahul Bhaskar
V Sreeharsha

5.5 points
Janardhan R
Leo Mirani
Nrupal Chaudhari
Rasik Tirodkar
Vikram Joshi

4 points
Arvind Krishnaswamy
Gopal Kidao
Mithun Srivatsa
Rajendra Parmar
Shiv Anant Tayal
Supriyo Saha
Vijay Chittoor
Vikas Sahu

The next quiz will be conducted on Sunday, January 25. More details will follow on this blog.


Anonymous said...

Thanks for mentioning my name.

For everbody's info: I warned Atul and Sajith at the end of the quiz that from next time I won't be hogging all the limelight, saving their behinds and answering everything while they just sit quiet! I am tired of giving all the answers each time while the rest of my team just sit mum, in awe.

Anonymous said...

P.S: that was a joke :|