Sunday, August 10, 2008

The Last Question

There is no quiz more exciting than one that is decided on the last question. That's exactly how the last BQC quiz, conducted in two parts by Shiv Anant Tayal and Rahul Gaur, ended. When the last question was asked, with two points at stake, four teams had a chance of winning the quiz. Which team won? My team won. This post would otherwise have been too traumatic to write.

Both halves of the quiz were good, with many workoutable questions. It could be argued that there were a few sitters and chestnuts, and few questions went all the way around, but it was good fun nevertheless. Here are the results:

1st with 35 points
Amit Varma
Ananya Deb
Rohit Ajitkumar
Ameya Samant
Rushi Bhavsar

2nd with 33 points
Aadisht Khanna
Atulya B
Kaustuv Gupta
Vijay Shankar

Tied 3rd-4th with 31.5 points
Rajiv Rai
Sireesh Rao
Sumit Roy

Sumant Srivathsan
Souvik Basu
Sarat Rao
Mukund Krishnan

5th with 30 points
Govind Grewal
Ajith Prabhakar
Atul Mathew
Jenish Shah

Tied 6th-7th with 26.5
Amit Pandeya
Pradeep Ramarathnam
Bikash Mohapatra
Shambhu Shankar

Kedar Sastry
Mukund Sridhar
Suraj Balakrishnan
+ 1

8th with 25 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
Dhananjay Shettigar
Francis Rodrigues
Sharath Manian

I've missed out the names of a few latecomers, and will fill them in once my operatives in the field get me the information.

And here come the league standings.

BQC Season three Standings (from nine quizzes, as of August 3, 2008)

44 points
Rajiv Rai (from 7 quizzes)

42.5 points
Amit Varma (9)

39 points
Sumant Srivathsan (9)

35.5 points

Rishi Iyengar (6)

26.5 points

Aadisht Khanna (5)

25.5 points

Ananya Deb (6)

24 points
Kedar Sastry (9)
Vibhendu Tiwari (7)

22 points
Amit Pandeya (9)

21 points
Ameya Samant (6)
Udatta Duarah (7)

20 points

Govind Grewal (8)
Rohit Ajitkumar (2)
Shrikant Narasimhan (2)

19.5 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam (8)

19 points
Sumit Roy (5)

17 points

Avinash Mudaliar (4)
Mahesh Murthy (2)

15.5 points
Akash Bansal (2)

14 points
Ajith Prabhakar (8)
Kaustuv Gupta (2)

10 points
Dhananjay Shettigar (?)
Mitul Kodali (2)
Rushi Bhavsar (2)
Sandeep Rajpurohit (4)
Sandip Sen (2)
Sireesh Talluri Rao (3)

9 points
Mukund Krishnan (4)

8 Points

Akanksha Mohan (2)
Anand Sivasankar (5)
Brian D'Souza (5)
S Balakrishnan (3)

7.5 points
Sarat Rao (5)

7 points

Ajay Ravindran (4)
Atulya B (?)
Kaustubh Chakravarti (1)
Mukund Sridhar (4)
Raamesh Gowri Raghavan (2)
Rahul Bhaskar (3)
V Sreeharsha (1)
Vijay Shankar (?)

6 points
Souvik Basu (?)

5.5 points
Francis Rodrigues (8)
Janardhan R (1)
Leo Mirani (1)
Nrupal Chaudhari (3)
Prasann Potdar (2)
Rasik Tirodkar (1)
Vikram Joshi (2)

4 points
Ravi Venkatesh (?)
Neelabh (?)

The next quiz takes place on August 24. More details will follow on this blog.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hi. This is Priyanko Sarkar from TOI. I would like to feature your group on our weekly column called Tribal Instincts. Please send me your contact details on so we can discuss and take this further. Regards, - Priyanko.