Wednesday, April 23, 2008

Rishi Iyengar zooms off the blocks

League champion Rajiv Rai was absent for the first BQC quiz of the 2008 season, held on April 13, but there was no dearth of quality quizzing. Samrat Sengupta, the quizmaster for the day, ran us through a largely workable quiz , and Rishi Iyengar, last year's overall runner-up, zoomed to first place. Vibhendu Tiwari and S Balakrishnan's team took an early lead, after which my team, with Sumant Srivathsan in it, led till about the halfway point, when the special topics round gave Rishi and gang the momentum to streak ahead. Good fun to begin the season.

The results:

1st with 56 points
Rishi Iyengar
Govind Grewal
Sandeep Rajpurohit
Mitul Kodoli

2nd with 50 points
Amit Varma
Sumant Srivathsan
Raamesh Gowri Raghavan
Ajay Ravindran

3rd with 48 points
Vibhendu Tiwari
S Balakrishnan
Sireesh Talluri Rao
Brian D'Souza

4th with 45 points
Anand Sivasankar
Srinath TB
Vidya Kumar
Anand Satyan

Joint 5th-6th with 42 points
Ajith Prabhakar
Amit Pandeya
Devang Ghia
Saurabh Garg

Arvind Krishnaswamy
Pradeep Ramarathnam
Abilin Mukherjee
Francis Rodrigues

7 with 41 points
Sarat Rao
Avinash Mudaliar
Nandan Krishnaswamy
Abad Eh*

8th with 26 points
Sriram Krishnan
Sritanu Chakrabarti
Aditya Agarwal
Kedar Sastry

(*Not sure about one name, wasn't legible in the team list I received. Do correct me...)

The people coming first get 10 points each in the league table, while the second-placed quizzers get 7 each and the third placed guys get 4 each. So those are the league standings. The next quiz is conducted this Sunday, April 27, by Rajiv Rai. More details will follow here.

No comments: