Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Rajiv Cassidy and the Miranda Kid

Rajiv Rai and Movin Miranda romped to an emphatic win in the BQC quiz last Sunday, as the rest of us cowered under tables and hid behind chairs. "This is a conference room, not a Hollywood film," we begged, "stop firing." But they kept shooting answers at Sheriff Harshil Shah, the quizmaster, who caught a flight back to the USA a few hours after the quiz. It is clear why.

Rajiv extended his lead on top of the BQC rankings with this win, while Sumant Srivathsan and Kedar Sastry came second, followed by Rishi Iyengar and Amit Pandeya in third place. The quiz was entertaining -- pun intended, as there were some excellent questions on entertainment, all of which I have forgotten because I am aged now. (Subscribers have access to all questions of all BQC quizzes, so, ahem!)

The results:

1st with 23 points
Rajiv Rai
Movin Miranda

2nd with 15 points
Sumant Srivathsan
Kedar Sastry

3rd with 13 points
Rishi Iyengar
Amit Pandeya

4th-5th with 9 points each
Amit Varma
Sameer Nair

Pradeep Ramarathnam
Devang Ghia
Amit Grover

6th with 8 points
Ameya Samant
Mukund Sridhar

And now, the league standings:

BQC Season Two Standings (from 18 quizzes, as of December 16, 2007)

99.5 points
Rajiv Rai (from 13 quizzes)

74 points
Rishi Iyengar (15)

69 points

Amit Varma (15)

62 points
Prasann Potdar (12)

56 points
Sumant Srivathsan (14)

48 points
Ashwan Lewis (8)

41.5 points
Vibhendu Tiwari (15)

40 points

Govind Grewal (14)

37.5 points
AP Alagarsamy (12)

36 points
Ameya Samant (14)

35 points
S Balakrishnan (12)
Kedar Sastry (11)

32 points
Ajith Prabhakar (13)

29 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam (12)

28 points
Mahesh Murthy (6)
Amit Pandeya (10)

26.5 points
Mukund Krishnan (8)

24.5 points
Devang Ghia (16)

24 points
Anand Sivasankar (13)
Kartik Srivatsa (5)

20 points
Shambhu Shankar (?)

18 points
Avinash Mudaliar (8)
Kartik R (?)
Sarat Rao (?)

17.5 points
Souvik Basu (?)

17 points
Ravi Venkatesh (6)

16.5 points

Dhananjay Shettigar (10)

14 points
Samrat Sengupta (5)
Udatta Duarah (6)

11 points
Ajay Ravindran (4)
Meghashyam Shirodkar (3)
Nandan Krishnaswamy (6)
Atulya Bharadwaj (2)

10 points
Aravinda Talluri (1)
Neeraj (1)
Nilesh Jain (1)
Tanmay Sharma (2)
Gaurav Singh (1)
Raghu (?)
Sritanu Chakravarty (2)
Sowmya Ramaswamy (1)
Hansraj Singh (1)
John Mascarenhas (3)
Vaibhav Devanathan (1)
Sameer Nair (2)
Movin Miranda (1)

8 points
Hanisha Vaswani (5)
Francis Rodrigues (9)

7 points
Akshay Mahajan (1)
Rahul Bhaskar (3)
Saurav (?)
Nrupal Choudhari (?)
Harshil Shah (1)

4 points
Padma Sinha (3)
Pranav Kukreja (1)
Sireesh Talluri Rao (6)
Sushant Raut (5)
Chitra Raghunath (1)
Arvind Krishnaswamy (5)
Sandeep Randery (1)
Sandip Sen (2)

The next BQC quiz is on January 6, 2008. More details will follow on this blog.


Unknown said...

Are the questions posted somewhere? Can I take a potshot? I have just joined the group.

Anonymous said...

The BQC subscriber's group is for members who have paid up their membership fees which will, we hope, go to fund our very own Open quiz. Our next quiz is on 6-Jan and we do have a look-see policy, which lets you attend a couple of quizzes to find out if you like it. We have a quiz every two weeks. I see you're on Elite. I'll drop you a mail if you want to find out more about membership etc.