Sunday, November 04, 2007

Udatta unleashes unspeakable horror

The BQC met yesterday for an excellent quiz by Delhi's Udatta Duarah. The quizmaster, a frequent visitor to Mumbai, has consumed many tender infants with the BQC. While his enthusiastic participation has ensured that he will be among those Eaten First, he has never before been a Master of Ceremonies. Yesterday, he served up a quiz that even the well-known cannibal Jackie Chan would have approved. For three hours of unspeakable horror, the quizmaster systematically explored human depravity from infant sacrifice to foot fetishes. With ingenious questions and plenty of experiments, it was certainly one of the best quizzes to be held this season. Those fortunate enough to attend ensured the damnation of their souls. Those who didn't will have to put in long hours of community service, Jackie Chan style, with a chainsaw. The competition was similarly exciting. In a brutal battle, Amit Varma and Ajith Prabhakar triumphed over the monstrously strong team of Vibhendu and Prasann Potdar. Sumant and Francis were also in the race until the very last question.

1st with 42 points
Amit Varma
Ajith Prabhakar

2nd with 41 points
Prasann Potdar
Vibhendu Tiwari

3rd with 38 points
Sumant Srivathsan
Francis Rodrigues

4th with 32 points
Govind Grewal
Anand Sivasankar
Sarat Rao

5th with 22 points
Rishi Iyengar
Arvind Krishnaswamy
Ajay Ravindran

6th with 18 points
S Balakrishnan
Devang Ghia

BQC Season Two Standings (from 14 quizzes, as of November 4, 2007)

79.5 points

Rajiv Rai (from 10 quizzes)

62 points

Amit Varma (11)
Prasann Potdar (10)

48 points

Ashwan Lewis (8)

47.5 points
Rishi Iyengar (11)

41 points
Sumant Srivathsan (10)

35 points
S Balakrishnan (10)

32 points

AP Alagarsamy (10)
Ajith Prabhakar (12)

30 points
Govind Grewal (11)

29 points
Pradeep Ramarathnam (9)
Vibhendu Tiwari (12)

28 points
Mahesh Murthy (6)
Kedar Shastry (9)

26.5 points
Mukund Krishnan (6)

24 points
Amit Pandeya (9)
Anand Sivasankar (11)
Kartik Srivatsa (5)

20.5 points
Ameya Samant (11)

18 points
Kartik R (?)
Sarat Rao (?)

17 points
Ravi Venkatesh (6)

16.5 points

Dhananjay Shettigar (10)

15 points
Devang Ghia (12)

14 points
Samrat Sengupta (4)
Udatta Duarah (4)

11 points
Ajay Ravindran (4)
Meghashyam Shirodkar (3)
Nandan Krishnaswamy (6)
Avinash Mudaliar (7)

10 points
Aravinda Talluri (1)
Neeraj (1)
Nilesh Jain (1)
Tanmay Sharma (2)
Gaurav Singh (1)
Raghu (?)
Sritanu Chakravarty (1)
Sowmya Ramaswamy (1)
Hansraj Singh (1)

8 points
Hanisha Vaswani (5)
Francis Rodrigues (9)

7 points
Akshay Mahajan (1)
Rahul Bhaskar (3)
Saurav (?)
Nrupal Choudhari (?)

4 points

Padma Sinha (3)
Pranav Kukreja (1)
Sireesh Talluri Rao (5)
Sushant Raut (5)
Chitra Raghunath (1)
Arvind Krishnaswamy (5)

1 point
Souvik Basu (?)

No comments: