Sunday, July 01, 2007

'Identify the nebula!'

Such nostalgia. The last time young Dhoomketu conducted a quiz for the BQC, it was at the In Orbit Mall in Malad, and we were accused of playing housie by a mall manager who asked us to leave. Ha. Ho. On that occasion we stayed and finished the quiz. This time, in the convivial surroundings of Pinstorm, no one bothered us. Such fun.

Rajiv Rai, at the helm of an excellent team consisting of Rishi Iyengar, S Balakrishnan, Kedar Shastry and Nilesh Jain, stormed to victory. The intensity of the battle was evident when he leaned forward and hissed plaintively to his team-mates, "Identify that nebula." In the event, they didn't identify that nebula, but who needs nebulas? Who, huh?

Anyway, Rajiv shot to second place in the league standings with his win, with Ashwan Lewis, coming second in this quiz, remaining on top of the charts. The results are below, followed by the standings.

1st with 24 points
Rajiv Rai
Rishi Iyengar
S Balakrishnan
Kedar Shastry
Nilesh Jain

2nd with 19.5 points
Ashwan Lewis
Ameya Samant
Vibhendu Tiwari
Ajay Ravindran

3rd with 15.5 points
Amit Pandeya
Pradeep Ramarathnam
Hanisha Vaswani
Devang Ghia

4th with 15 points
Mahesh Murthy
Ravi Venkatesh
Samrat Sengupta
Anand Sivasankar
Amit Varma

5th with 11.5 points
AP Alagarsamy
Avinash Mudaliar
Govind Grewal
Shambhu Shankar

6th with 10.5 points
Sumant Srivathsan
Ajith Prabhakar
Sireesh Rao
Sushant Raut
Francis Rodrigues

And now the BQC League standings, after five quizzes:

BQC Season Two Standings (as of July 1, 2007)

31 points
Ashwan Lewis (from 4 quizzes)

27 points
Rajiv Rai (3)

20 points
Mahesh Murthy (3)

17 points
Anand Sivasankar (4)
Prasann Potdar (3)

15 points
Vibhendu Tiwari (4)

14 points

Ameya Samant (4)
Amit Pandeya (5)
Amit Varma (3)
Rishi Iyengar (3)

11 points
Ajay Ravindran (2)
Dhananjay Shettigar (4)
Pradeep Ramarathnam (4)

10 points
AP Alagarsamy (4)
Ajith Prabhakar (3)
Aravinda Talluri (1)
Avinash Mudaliar (3)
Kartik Srivatsa (1)
Kedar Shastry (2)
Nilesh Jain (1)
S Balakrishnan (4)
Tanmay Sharma (2)

8 points
Govind Grewal (4)
Hanisha Vaswani (4)

7 points
Akshay Mahajan (1)
Meghashyam Shirodkar (1)

4 points
Devang Ghia (3)
Francis Rodrigues (3)
Padma Sinha (2)
Pranav Kukreja (1)
Samrat Sengupta (2)
Sumant Srivathsan (2)
Sushant Raut (4)

Phew. The next quiz is on July 15, and will be conducted by Meghashyam Shirodkar. Details will be on this blog. Be there, or be somewhere boring. So there.


Amit said...

is audience allowed? I am pathetic at quizzing.. but I love being in the audience.. just to learn some extremely interesting stuff!

Rishi said...

Just turn up. Everyone participates, but the idea is to have fun! It's a lot more fun participating than sitting on the sidelines!